It is currently Sun May 28, 2017 5:52 am

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 4 posts ]
 Post subject: Heretic Review
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 9:27 pm 
Cyberdemon
Cyberdemon

If there is but one game that is symbolic of my childhood, it is Heretic. Funnily enough, it was my mum who first introduced it to me. We had the old version, with but three episodes. Most of my time playing it, from ages 3 to 5 was just watching my mum playing it. When I started school, I started playing it by myself. I used to run around the playground, pretending to be Corvus (though I didn't know that was his name), armed with my blue elven wand, killing the baddies. My best friend and I even managed to combine Heretic, Doctor Who and Star Wars into our playground games. Does/did anyone else ever get that strange nightmare where you are in E1M1, it looks normal, but suddenly a wall falls down and you have to travel through a part of the map you've never seen before and you end up fighting D'Sparil with just an elven wand? No? Count yourself lucky. All the sentimental attachment aside, lets look at the actual game.

Like many great Raven Software games, it runs on a modified id Software engine. It runs on id Tech 1, better known as the Doom Engine. The modifications have enabled looking up and down, flying and using inventory, such as quartz flasks (portable medikits) and even time bombs. Most of the weapons exhibit similarities to their Doom counterparts. The big difference, however, is that Heretic has something called the ''Tome of Power", which absolutely enhances every weapon and makes them amazing.